Knife is the life of chef

“Shark’s Fin &Sichuan Pepper” is a marvelous book for me. The author’s courage and passion touch me deeply. It’s interesting to understand how a foreigner views Chinese food and its food culture. By Fuchsia’s pan, the book truly presents the beauty of Chinese food. I want to talk about one impression chapter- The Cutting Edge. In this chapter, she introduces all kinds of the cutting skills in Chinese food culture. However, they have just one knife-the sharp cleavers.

Chinese food is particular emphasize in cutting part. It is as important as cooking. Every lesson for a trainee Chinese chef involves precise instructions for exactly how everything should be chopped. How you cut your ingredients will influences the remaining part of cooking the food and the success of the final dish. When I read this part, I can’t agree with it more. The beginning of my cooking learning was started by helping mom cut the ingredients. Doing it by myself is more difficult than just watching my mom did it. Every different meat and vegetable has its own shapes to be cut. And it really can influence its texture and flavor. I hate to do this job because my mom always can’t stand my cutting skills and speed, then she will make me get out of the kitchen. She always thinks that she can do it better and faster without my “help”. However, it can be practiced to become mature. When the time passed, I gradually find the enjoyment of cutting food. It’s pleased to find that you can cut something accurately and quickly. And from then on, I never kick out from the kitchen by my mom.

This entry was posted in Post 2: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knife is the life of chef

  1. Emma K. says:

    Hi Alison! I liked this chapter in Dunlop’s book, it showed me how much care and dedication goes into Chinese cooking. I also admire that Chinese chefs are able to use a cleaver in many ways. Chefs in America seem to have a wide variety of kitchen tools, but most of the tools only serve one purpose. I used to have the same experience with my mom in our kitchen when I would try “help” her cut vegetables. I agree with you: with time and practice, a person’s preparation of food can become more accurate and more enjoyable. It was nice to meet you today, and I hope you enjoy your class!

    • Alison Chen says:

      HI Emma. Thank you for your sharing. Being in the kitchen with Mom is interesting. Even though sometimes will be ignored. I always feel proud of myself when I can prepare the dishes for my lovely family.

  2. Olivia says:

    It is very interesting that the cutting skills are just as important to cooking as the actual cooking part. For me, I love to cook and I am told I am pretty good at it, but my cutting skills are not special at all. it seems like a very serious skill, and it is impressive that your culture’s cooks are so well trained in cutting. We use all types of knives in the USA. That could be looks at as wasteful.

    • Alison Chen says:

      I think it’s culture difference, Cutting food is harder than just imagine it. I spent a lot of time to practice it, And I am not that good at cooking, It’s really cool to know that you like cooking, What kind of food is your favorite?

Leave a comment