Shark’s Fin and Sichuan Pepper

I totally agree with Dunlop’s point that it is not easy for a traveler to go completely native in her tastes because food traditions are an essential part of our cultural identity because not everyone can adapt the foreign when he or she travels abroad. Last summer, I joined a summer school in Korea where I met some Taiwanese. For me, Korean food is one of my favorite food styles because I love spicy food. We tried all kinds of Korean food and even called for the food delivery to satisfy our curiosity of Korean style delivery. When I travel abroad, I will try as many local foods as possible. However, one of my friends couldn’t appreciate Korean food and always looked for the kind of food which tasted like Taiwanese food. My parents are also this kind of people who will avoid eating the foreign food which they don’t like. When we went to Bali, my parents only went to those cleaner restaurants because they thought the food at the street venders were not clean and might cause the diarrhea. But I think traveling abroad is the best chance to enjoy exotic foods. You may find the similar flavor in Taiwan but it can’t be the same as that in its original country.

one of my favorite korean food_ noodle with spicy ricecake

one of my favorite korean food_ noodle with spicy ricecake

This entry was posted in Post 2: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment